Paleo Stuffed Peppers

Good Morning!

This recipe was a huge with my family last night so I am sharing it with you.  It’s a quick and easy paleo dinner to make during the week.

IMG_1273

My Son and I have been adapting healthier eating habits since February 2017 with amazing results.  We were not exactly sure where to start but after much research, trial and error we settled on the Paleo diet.  We had already cut out fast food, sugar, processed food and decided to also cut the “bad” carbs and what a difference its made.  I’ve changed up this recipe to use 100% grass fed organic ground beef, organic marinara and  red Russian kale from my own garden.  Needless to say I will be making this recipe again.

My garden isn’t doing too shabby.  I knew I wouldn’t have time to tend to a large garden this year due to some family obligations but I should be able to have a larger fall garden. But what I do have is doing quite well.  The weather keeps promising rain but not delivering so today I need to do a good watering when the afternoon shade hits.

IMG_1193

I bought the carrot seeds that have the “coating” on them to help the seeds have more seeds germinate faster.  “Codswhallop” I say.  Unless I did not follow the directions on planting, which I did, only 10 seeds germinated.  I have 10 carrots (insert angry face here)!  I was looking forward to multi-colored carrots this year.  I want to find a good seed bank online that is reputable.  I’ve gone to a few seed exchanges but nobody has brought carrot seeds.

I am so tempted to fry up my green tomatoes before they turn red…

IMG_1196

On to the delicious recipe.

Version 2

Paleo Stuffed Pepper Recipe

Ingredients:

1 lb grass fed ground Beef

2 cups organic marinara

1 tablespoon basil

2 cloves garlic

1 medium onion

3 large bell peppers

2 cups kale

Preheat oven to 400.  Brown ground beef well and remove from pan.  In that pan sauté onions and kale until translucent and wilted.  Add ground beef and marinara and cook for 10 minutes to mix flavors well.

Wash and half each pepper.  Clean out seeds and white marrow.  Arrange  each pepper in a glass baking dish and drizzle with avocado oil (or oil of your choice).  fill each pepper with beef and kale mixture, you can and will want to over stuff them a bit.  Bake in a 400 degree over for 30 minutes.  Remove and let cool for 5 – 10 minutes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

