Paleo Stuffed Poblano Peppers & Progress

IMG_1341

 

Happy Manic Monday everyone!

This Mornings smoothie brought to you by bananas & almond butter.  I sprinkled a little ground pecans on top and it really does taste like a banana nut muffin, yum.  1 cup almond milk, 1 frozen banana, 1 Tbs almond butter + 1 cup ice.  Blend it up and enjoy.

Last weeks progress:

fullsizeoutput_111e

I will give you a base line.  In February 2017 I was 245 pounds and depressed. No exercise, no structured diet.  I had successfully put back on 45 pounds and robbed myself of reaching “onederland” once again.  But, I’ve been slowly increasing my exercise as my back allows and vigilantly eating clean and counting calories on the “MyFitnessPal” app which I simply love.  This and the other apps paired with my iPhone and Apple Watch have helped me quickly and easily track my progress and hold me accountable for my choices.  I loose weight in tiers like a ladder for some reason, thats just how I’ve always been.  Once I understood that, I was able to let go of the discouragement when the scale did not move or my body did not show results.

fullsizeoutput_1114

So, as promised I am going to provide the recipe for my paleo stuffed poblano peppers.  They have a bit of a “zing” to them but the raisins and pepitas balance the flavors so well.

IMG_1327

With the poblano peppers, I put them in the 450 degree oven for about 10 minutes to soften them, until the skin began to bubble and char just a bit.  Then took them out, halved and seeded them before stuffing them with goodness.

IMG_1325

While they were charring I browned my grass fed ground beef with Onions, garlic, ground cumin, salt & Pepper.  Adding the tomato paste, raisins and pepitas I let this simmer for about 5 minutes to mingle the flavors.  Then I stuffed the peppers and baked for another 10 minutes.

fullsizeoutput_1117

IMG_1332

We topped it all off with a paleo ranch dressing made with paleo mayonnaise, delectable!  I had mine with a freshly made market salad with strawberries.  I love the taste and smell of the combination of fruits and vegetables.  Also, lime juice for burst of citrus flavor was added.  I love how this was a quick and delicious meal to make, filling and summery.  I would love to try these on the grill next time.

Stuffed Poblano Pepper Recipe:

1 pound of grass fed ground beef

4 poblano peppers

1 small yellow onion

3 Tbs garlic

2 Tbs tomato paste

2 tsp cumin

salt & Pepper to taste

3 Tbs pepitas

3 Tbs raisins or currants

1/4 cup of fresh cilantro

1 lime

 

Preheat over to 450 degrees

Place poblano peppers on a sheet pan covered with parchment paper.  Drizzle with oil (I used avocado oil), season with salt and pepper and roast in the oven for about 10 minutes until the skin begins to blister and char.  Remove from oven and let cool for a few minutes until they can be handled.  Slice peppers in half removing seeds and ribs and lay skin down back on baking sheet.

Brown the ground beef, garlic and onions while peppers are charing in the oven making sure all pink is gone then, add the cumin, tomato paste, raisins and pepitas.  Let this cook together for about 5 minutes.

Stuff each pepper half with ground beef mixture, as much as possible and bake for about 10 minutes until heated thoroughly, remove from over to slightly cool.

Add your favorite sauce or dressing and accompany with a salad or some fresh sliced avocado.  Drizzle with lime juice and garnish with fresh cilantro.

 

 

Leave a Reply

